The Lords Insurance Blog

Making Insurance

My Car Brakes Are More Annoying Than My Wife

Except I don’t have a wife…or a girlfriend for that matter…but I have you right? You’ll never leave me. Never.

Anyway, a concerned driver asked us “My brakes were squeaking pretty hard when I press on the brakes but the noise is gone now – does this mean I’m good to go?”

Dear Concerned Driver,

Please look into changing your name as ‘Concerned Driver’ can be a pretty confusing name.

As for your brakes, there some reasons as to why your brakes squeak but it’s mostly because of the vibration of the friction material’s backing plate. Besides sounding like a neutered dog, the brakes are usually safe and the problem can be reduced or eliminated by cleaning and lubricating the contact points on the back of the brakes.

An exception is the break wear sensor – which is when it starts to makes the good ol ‘fingernail on the chalkboard’ noise(except no one uses a chalkboard anymore so here is a reminder of what it sounds like) The noise means your brake fiction is wearing out.

It’s highly recommended that you have your brakes checked by a mechanic as soon as possible if that starts happening.

Written by lordsinsurancelog

March 7, 2011 at 3:27 pm

Posted in Insurance Tips